top of page

Why is there an expiration date on milk?

A recent article in an online news publication discussed my supposed misuse of a quote in campaign literature, which was attributed to that publications’ editor. This has resulted in a public shaming of me on social media where one citizen astutely observed, “Throwing mud at a candidate who is trying to bring about positive change in Mount Dora is a sneaky way to not have to talk about [change]. It's nothing but a smoke screen.” The short story is that the editor has called me out on usage of a quote attributed to her regarding the idea that council members have a “shelf life.” The quote was published four years ago in the Orlando Sentinel.

For purposes of illustration, I have included the (edited) postcard here to put this into perspective. (I’ve blurred-out her name and title.)

This election is not about a postcard – it should be about you. It’s about the future of Mount Dora and whether or not citizens want an enthusiastic, educated and prepared candidate offering a challenge to the status quo. To make that happen, we need to put into perspective the time given to this postcard issue so people can move on to the real and bigger issues that impact them and their enjoyment of Mount Dora now and for future generations. Let’s make it happen.

Regarding the quote usage in my postcard, I was wrong in one or more ways. I should have known that the Sentinel had quoted her out of context and before I sent out the mailers I could have asked if she still or ever believed in the shelf life comments. I am also sorry that I did not know that someone would believe that a quote used to point out an issue (shelf life of council members) made in 2011 could be interpreted as an all-out endorsement of my candidacy in 2015. I never intended harm or to mislead in the use of Sentinel quote. We're all neighbors, quite literally. I know that kindness matters. So to those that I upset, hurt or otherwise harmed, I apologize. I hope that people will judge me for the totality of my education, experience and enthusiasm for Mount Dora’s bright future.

As a courtesy, I will discontinue quoting her in future printings of my literature or otherwise, but I'll continue to support this widely articulated idea that elected officials indeed have a shelf life; it's a very powerful and timely message. Someone should stand up and own it and I'm ready for that responsibility. There is no smokescreen here. What’s really important is the essence of the quote regarding the “shelf life” of a candidate. The President of the United States has a shelf life and so should the members of the Mount Dora City Council. My opponent first began service in 2006 – almost 8 years in total -- and I suggest that he has reached his shelf life. In reference to “shelf life,” while some are backing out of saying it, or trying to qualify it, let me say it clearly and anyone is free to quote me on it. “I believe elected council members have a shelf life and it's time for new leadership and fresh eyes on the challenges that face Mount Dora.” ~Mark Slaby. Here is another quote from retiring Mount Dora Councilman Denny Wood:

“I’d like to see council members get on for a few terms, give their ideas, then move on to make room for new perspectives. There is always continuity on our city council as terms are staggered.” -- As seen in the Mount Dora News, September 23, 2015. And another to show why change is important: Wisdom degenerates in governments as governments increase in age. ~Thomas Paine. I too will have a shelf life, but now I'm beginning fresh and will bring change to a council that badly needs it. I hope when I've done what I can do, someone else steps up to this responsibility and points out my expiration date.

As I attended council meetings and voiced concerns that many of us share, it felt like there was a need for an advocate to fearlessly challenge the status quo---to speak up for citizens and to not just “go along to get along.” Enthusiasm and energy are needed---I’ve heard that from many, including former council members---and that is why I was encouraged to serve. I won’t vote quietly. I will advocate---be a voice---and work with others to find solutions to problems. Further, I make things happen, which reminds me of a favorite -- and timely -- quote by Theodore Roosevelt:

“The only man who never makes a mistake is the man who never does anything.”

We’ve got a lot of things to do to get Mount Dora safely in the hands of the next generation. I’m glad that I stood up and spoke out in favor of our historic downtown and the need for beautiful oak trees.

I’m glad that I spoke out against the bio-solids facility, against single-source purchasing and against the current method of choosing our external auditors among many other issues.

If you really follow our government, you know that few speak up let alone offer ideas and solutions. It is not easy to stand in front of your government, but I will continue to do that and also make it easier and more welcoming for others to do the same. If you elect me, you will have an advocate for your tax dollars. As the son of a small town banker, I will keep my head down, looking out for your cities’ financials---and studying issues so that the charm and character of Mount Dora are preserved for future generations.

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page