top of page

Excitement in Mount Dora


A few weeks ago I was out campaigning with my two daughters, Margo and Annika, we had a great time talking with people about Mount Dora and what is important to them. These get-to-know-ya events with people often go on for a good period of time -- which is great. They start off with a quick introduction and description of who I am and why I want to be on Mount Dora City Council.

The girls heard it over and over -- laughing at first -- nodding their heads as I repeated it over and over to people --- I get excited about what to some is boring!

And I pay attention to it too. Close attention -- and it seems to me that that is the type of person we want on Mount Dora City Council.

I speak up on one of those "boring" issues.

Here's the example. At the most recent City Council Meeting, the staff put forward the Fiscal Year 2015-16 Purchasing Policies and Procedures document. I know. The title alone might make some of you glaze over -- let alone the 32 pages of detail. Stay with me please.

In general, the policy includes a call for the City to get three (3) bids. It is a way to not only look after the citizens' money but it helps the City by giving confidence that employees are doing a great job with your money. That is important. We need to make sure people see great work.

I think that the 32 page policy was very good -- I just wanted to point out one small nuance -- that is when the City is planning to IN SOURCE something that was currently being OUT SOURCED.

In the now approved 2015-2016 budget -- there were two notable items -- Meter Reading and a Street Sweeper -- where the City took over something currently done by others.

To be clear -- there is nothing inherently wrong with the City taking over these sort of things -- there are opportunities to consolidate operations -- take advantage of existing staff and office space and many other reasons. In fact, when I spoke I made it clear that I was not speaking to the merits of the actions taken. That was not the time to discuss those items.

I merely pointed out a small detail -- the policy does not require the City to get a two (2) additional bids from outside firms, if possible. It seems simple enough. In both cases in this year's budget the City staff expects to save money vs. the current provider -- with at least the same level of service -- possibly higher. All great. Good work.

All I am suggesting is that whenever we do decide to bring items IN HOUSE we make sure to check out the marketplace. Even if the marketplace is more expensive -- there is value in the process -- of knowing and showing

Now we know that whatever it is that we are bringing IN HOUSE we know that it is a good decision based on the information.

That sort of clarity builds confidence in everyone involved. And more confidence helps strengthen peoples' view of Mount Dora. That is excellent.

If you are still reading -- you too must be someone that gets excited about the boring. You are not alone. You see -- whenever Margo, Annika and I were talking to people and mentioned the 'excited about the boring' most people would say that the 'boring' is also 'important'. Yes. You get it.

If Mount Dora citizens collectively decide to put me on City Council --- rest assured that I will be paying attention to the IMPORTANT no matter where it lies on the 'exciting-boring' continuum. That is what you deserve.

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page