top of page

Trees Want YOU


Trees can't talk. They need you. Now. Thursday, September 10, 6pm, City Hall. Public Budget Hearing.

Why?

Now is the last chance to get some real attention and, frankly, numbers matter. Lots of people in the audience -- overflow crowd -- gets the Council's attention.

Sure, people came to the Community Building in May to voice concerns about the downtown streetscape project. The outpouring of support -- was there over 100 people there? -- got the City to listen and to set up a session in June.

There, with many of you present, several speakers, including me, were able to make the case that at least 4 oak trees on Phase 3 would make it so much better -- and I must say that those 4 additional live oaks on 4th and Donnelly did improve the look dramatically. The future for that area looks shady -- nice and shady.

More to do. The prospect of having to wait 4 or 5 budget cycles (YEARS!) to revisit the earlier phases -- Especially Donnelly between 4th and 5th -- is why we need you.

In May and June, the Council said that they would revisit the earlier phases. When? I am concerned.

In July and August I have REPEATEDLY reminded the Council at Mount Dora City Council Public Meetings of their commitment to do what they had promised to do. Review the earlier phases is what was promised.

I've included an excerpt from a City Manager Vince Pastue's memo where he gets a 'sense' that this issue needs a broad discussion. We need for more than a 'sense' .. I don't see timelines. I worry.

I want to be wrong here but I am afraid that without more people in attendance that we'll get some comments about time or money and then get the can kicked down the (shade tree-less) road. I hope I am wrong but I am not leaving it to chance.

I'll be there Thursday and will speak. Here's the thing though --- my comments -- especially since I'm a candidate for service on the City Council -- needs to have more and more people echoing me -- in your own words.

Whenever we as a group make our voices heard -- we seem to get more accomplished.

Below is what I would say at the meeting (trying to keep to the 3 minute time limit for speaking) -- Mayor Hoechst is pretty good at letting folks go over on time as long as you are making new points -- so keep that in mind if you speak on Thursday.

For me, I jot a few notes and just speak from my heart right to the Council so writing this down ahead of time will be interesting for me.

Hopefully, by reading it ahead of time Council will do the right thing for the long term of Mount Dora and they can take all the credit if they want. In the words of Harry Truman, "It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit".

Hopefully, we'll have a council member move the agenda item to the top -- they do that when a large group of people are in attendance.

The trees need you there. Be there. Please.

Mark Slaby's comments for Thursday -- shared now to help move the discussion.

I'm Mark Slaby, I live at 2040 Hillside Drive in Mount Dora. (They ask for your address for the public record). Thank you for a few minutes of your time to discuss the issue of trees in Mount Dora and specifically Phases 1 and 2 completed in prior years.

I'm reminded of a quote from legendary Green Bay Packer coach Vince Lombardi "Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence." That is why I am here to ask that we chase perfection. Phase 3 looks great! Thanks for listening to citizens and adding more oak trees while it was relatively easy to do. And while Phase 3 is great...

...We have work to do still -- to bring our streetscape closer to perfection. You said you would revisit this issue - I've been right here several times this summer reminding you -- and while we should not be this far behind -- it is the time for us to work together for Mount Dora -- We need Council to make the commitment to not wait 4 or 5 years to revisit our downtown. It's time for Council to make good on your promise to revisit Phases 1 & 2.

As I've told you before -- the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago.... not 5 years from now.

From an economic perspective, our downtown is our marketing gem, and it needs polish and needs to be as close to perfect as we can make it so that we can catch excellence. Our community economy relies on a vibrant downtown -- bringing people to the city to spend there and everywhere else in the city.

With this we not only have visitors contributing to our businesses directly we also have them paying the sales tax penny -- they help pay for our government. Thank you visitors. AND. All this helps everyone in Mount Dora protect and enhance our property values.

Actionable item --

1. Put back the funding for streetscape design work -- rework the areas that need more shade/ canopy trees.

2. Acknowledge that we need more funding for more boulevard canopy trees and that we need a program. Put some REAL money in there. I'm not going to TELL you where you can find the money, but I have lots of ideas on where if you don't have any ideas.

Vince Lombardi's words -- catching EXCELLENCE -- is what we all want. We're thankful that you listened and spent our money on the extra trees. We have more work to do so let's do it together.

Thanks for your time. I really do appreciate it.

***********************************End of Meeting comments*********************************************

Share this post. Forward emails. Get the word out. Text a friend. Ask people to join you at the meeting. Together we can bring Mount Dora to the edge of PERFECTION. See you there. Thursday. 6pm.

Below is a snippet from the September 10 City of Mount Dora City Manager Memo: (Only point #4 is shown.)

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page